Drawing, Cannelloni and other therapies!

I just had the most stress full couple of weeks, it was incredibly busy at work so I was starting earlier and finishing later and broke my usual exercise habit and of course didn’t have time to go to the local fruit and veg market so I was picking up meals here and there. On top of all this was the anniversary of the passing away of somebody dear to me which always makes me a little emotional.

I was an absolute mess, a ball of tension and emotion. As I realised my back was hunched over and my shoulders were up near my ears I realised… Girl you got to look after yourself!

I stopped and told myself not to get so worked up and looked at ways to be kinder to myself. I dedicated some time during the week to me and the things I love. Instead of coming home and plonking myself on the couch in front of the TV I turned it off and did a drawing other days I would turn some music on and ceremoniously  prepare a meal or have a nice bath with candles and music.. I even booked myself in for a 1 hour full body Aromatherapy massage, best $55 I ever spent!

It was bliss and a reminder that sometimes you have to stop for a second and prioritise yourself. Quite often we place so much pressure on ourselves, stop it! There are so many hours in a day, there is always room there to work in some “relax time”.

Usually on a Sunday afternoon my fiancé and I  make a yummy meal and relax in front of the TV. I had started a drawing earlier in the day and was enjoying myself so much I didn’t want to stop, I had downloaded some cool tunes and had my head phones in at the dining table singing away with my new art supplies I had purchased. I looked up and noticed he too had turned the TV off and had picked up a book and looked very relaxed on the couch having a read. I thought to myself, what a peaceful little household this is, how heavenly, we were both so relaxed. So Simple, just turn the TV off!! Of course I drew tropical places and exotic animals.. a sign I need a holiday soon I think!!

Image

I saw one of my friends in a similar position, work had been demanding and she felt like she was being pulled from all angles. We were making plans to meet up on the weekend and I suggested we make cheese and spinach cannelloni together and have a feast at your place. Perhaps it is  the Italian in me but in my opinion Sometimes you need that grounding experience of friends in the kitchen together, with a good glass of wine hand making a yummy meal together ceremoniously. The best bit is, you get to taste the results of your labour afterwards, around a big table with company of your choice, music of your choice and a comfortable setting. We made Cheese and Spinach Cannelloni with a red meat sauce ( a fusion of mine and my friends recipes to add some oomph to the sauce) I will post the recipe shortly.

Image

Don’t get me wrong sometimes you just need a good movie and some popcorn and some down time but do also take time out for yourself and do something else you love too! Re discover an old passion, run out and take some photos, try a new recipe, do a drawing or painting, pick that book up again! I know.. its not rocket science but sometimes we forget!!

One thought on “Drawing, Cannelloni and other therapies!

Leave a Reply

